4-H Cloverbuds is a non-competitive educational program offering 4-H learning experience/situations for children enrolled in kindergarten through 3rd grade (ages 5-7).

The non-competitive learning environment for 4-H Cloverbuds includes the following:

  • developmentally appropriate activities
  • cooperation, rather than competition, should be emphasized
  • planned learning activities in which children are invited to be active and explore materials and ideas without the pressure of completing a specific product or exhibit
  • simple, interesting activities that are fun
  • encouragement of children to participate in a group activity by sharing and/or displaying their activity projects
  • recognition and incentives are to be presented without rank or placing

In South Dakota, children in kindergarten through 3rd grade can participate in Cloverbuds in two ways:

  1. Participating in a county Cloverbud program
  2. Enrolling in a 4-H community club as a Cloverbud member and participating in the age-appropriate activities of that club

Cloverbud members can participate in most aspects of the 4-H program, except for a few notable exceptions:

  • 4-H Cloverbud members cannot participate in large animal livestock projects (i.e. horse, dairy, goats, sheep, swine and beef).
  • 4-H Cloverbud members cannot participate in shooting sports at the county level.
  • 4-H Cloverbud members cannot exhibit at State Fair, State Horse Show, or State Shooting Sports.
  • 4-H Cloverbud members can participate in county Youth in Action events or Achievement Days, but only as a participant. They cannot compete in events or receive ribbon placing of purple, blue, red or white. Cloverbud participation ribbons/certificates are one form of acceptable recognition.
Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial